Zodiac Astrology Elements

12 zodiac signs are grouped into four essential elements; each of it belongs to one of the four elements – Air, Fire, Water and Earth. Zodiac signs in the same element group are compatible with each other as they have some similar traits. So, they could understand each other well. Besides, as Fire needs Air to burn, signs in these two groups are very compatible. Earth and Water needs each other, so signs in these two groups match each other well.

Why air, fire, earth and water as the four elements?

Actually, this is an ancient saying in Europe, just like in ancient China, the Five Elements were considered to be the elements making up the world. If the source has to be figured out, ancient westerners believed that air represented gas, fire (heat and light) represented energy, earth represented solid and water represented liquid. Since everything human beings saw and felt in daily life were in these forms, they believed the world was made up of them.

What do the four zodiac elements represent?

Fire represents passion, progress, and the desire for life, the will to be and become.
Air represents courage, determination and manifestation in the physical world.
Water represents peace and tolerance and also signifies the mind and communication.
Earth represents honesty and steadiness, and the realm of emotions. It is perhaps the least understood element.

Fire Signs: Aries, Leo, Sagittarius

Fire element is a kind of cosmic radiative energy which is exciting and warm, making the world colorful. Fire signs include Aries, Leo and Sagittarius. People of Fire element learn the world by intuition and like to act on instincts. With a strong self-awareness, they are as passionate as fire. Also, they are lively, courageous and eager to create things and find unique and innovative approaches. Generally, people under Fire signs are self-sufficient, hold a very positive attitude towards life and live a life full of passion. >> Read more

Earth Signs: Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn

Earth element, just like the Water element, is highly passive and receptive. People of Earth element are known for their endurance and persistence and they look at everything with kid gloves. Earth signs include Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn. People under Earth signs learn the world thru senses, judge with vision, hearing, taste, smell, and touch, and they are good at waiting and enduring. In the face of opponents or challenges, they could take a deep breath, prepare for everything and attack at the most appropriate time. But sometimes they may keep delaying. While patience is a merit, it can be a flaw if taken as an excuse for inaction. >> Read more

Air Signs: Gemini, Libra, Aquarius

Air element is the life energy closely related to "gas", which is in charge of communication and exchange. Air signs include Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius. People under Air signs attach great importance to balance and they are usually quite calm but when a certain balance is broken, they can become as violent as a storm. People of Air element are generally learned, intelligent, fair and sociable and sometimes could be subject to changing moods, so do not break their bottom limits. >> Read more

Water Signs: Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces

Water element is associated with the deepest desires in soul which drive people to move towards awakening direction in a slow yet determined way. Water element represents the deep emotions, such as the impulsive passion, the intense fear, the great tolerance and the love for creation. Water signs include Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces. People of Water element are more emotional and intuitive than other signs and they usually show some supernatural abilities; also, they are compassionate, helpful and quite understanding. Susceptible to mood swings, people under Water signs may indulge themselves and isolate themselves in fantasy in the worst case. In this case, they may be able to see things more clearly than others, which can be called "spirit". >> Read more

Compatibility Between the Elements

A fire sign can understand other fire signs and air signs. Water signs put out the brilliancy of fire signs just like what earth signs do. An air sign is compatible with other air signs, water signs and even fire signs. However, earth signs can suppress air signs. A water sign appreciates other water signs, air signs or earth signs. But water and fire signs are incompatible. An earth signcan get along well with other earth signs or water signs but cannot get along with fire signs since earth is capable of extinguishing fire. Earth signs can and coexist with air signs, but only in a general relationship.>> Read more
Keep Reading
Make a Wish